Home > Environmental, Informative, Misc, Opinion/Rant > Planet Earth….

Planet Earth….

…. as captured by the BBC. Erin was nice enough to let me get the complete series on DVD from Costco this evening, for quite a steal ($60 bucks). Included is 550’ish minutes of the most glorious, high definition documentary abour our little blue marble that I have ever seen (and I’ve seen alot of them).

I’ve wanted this series for years, ever since I first saw adverts for it, and some tantalizing clips on the interweb, many years ago. It has been remembered and forgotten, until I recently learnt that it was available on DVD in North America. Until now, I had not heard a blip about the series being available in a collected format. When I heard this, I promised myself that if I ever got the chance, I would leap at the opportunity to own it. And now I do.

As many of you know, I’m a big proponent of renewable (and clean) energies, and ‘doing our part’ to keep the planet as liveable as possible for the future generations of humanity… although given how ignorant the current batch of us are, this might be a dubious prospect. But I digress. I could not imagine anyone I know seeing this series and not being humbled/amazed/moved by the absolute and stunning diversity and beauty of the images in this series. This series should be a beacon to humanity, showing us just how bloody amazing this planet is, the real world that we never see outside of our self imposed 9-5 cages, and urban jungles with their roaring SUV’s. I could not imagine people who saw this series, NOT caring what happens to the planet after seeing even just 5 minutes of footage. It’s beautiful.

And we are ruining it.

If you ever get the opportunity, PLEASE see this documentary. I guarantee you will not be dissapointed.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

