Home > Misc > Maybe I'll keep up with this one?

Maybe I'll keep up with this one?

Hullo.

I’m Shane, my nickname is Senzeni, or just Sen. I came across my online moniker in the ‘Mars Trilogy’, and thought it’d make an original name (My old one, Cabe, was getting a bit old in the tooth to me at that point) . Little did I know it’s true meaning.

Anyways, If you are here, then you have read the link in my MSN name, or randomly come across this. In either case, I apologise in advance. I used to host a blog, *over here*, but I got out of the habit of updating it. Mostly because I got tired of dealing with opening my now ancient copy of Dreamweaver, editing stuff and writing, saving a local copy of the file, then opening up my ancient WS_FTP client (I still have the WS_FTP file that I downloaded when I was in my highschool co-op at Primeline! it’s twelve YEARS old and has survived countless leaps to new computers and hard drives) to transfer the newly updated file to my space. If I made a mistake (which I do often), then I’d have to go back to square one, and begin again.

Trust me when I say that I’m way to busy trying to be lazy to do all that!

Aaanyhoo, I figured I’d give this a dabble. I hope to have some pictures up eventually, I’m starting to get interested in the finer points of photography. My old manger from the Startech days (who never emails me back, nudge nudge) initially got me interested in the more advanced aspects of digital cameras, and as soon as I’m able (hopefully by end of month) I intend on upgrading beyond our current Fuji Finepix camera, which I fondly call ‘The Fuji-saur’. Please note that price on the link is way more then I’d pay for it new today. Fuji-san is an impressive specimen. It eats batteries at a voracious rate, sometimes not getting any more then 50-60 pictures per charge for me. It is also from the digital stone age, as far as camera’s are concerned. Note the cheap plastic casing, plenty of room inside to let the Flinstone-esque gerbil engrave onto a stone tablet. At the ‘fine’ quality setting for pictures, the recycle time on the camera is about 8-seconds per picture. Eight! That’s insane in camera-talk. Given all of these *wonderful* features, and my budding interest in photography, and you can see why I feel the need to upgrade. I’m looking into a Canon S3 IS, it looks like it will have all of the features (up to 2.3 pictures/second!) I’m looking for currently, and a good deal of expandability for down the road.

I’m also very much enjoying my time playing Puzzle Quest, and reading ‘Island in the Sea of Time’. I recently read the Author’s ‘Dies the Fire’ Trilogy, and haven’t read such a well written and thought out piece of fiction in years. Even better, the trilogy didn’t have any weak book. Each novel is trim and svelt, no un-needed padding on this story!

S.M. Stirling is my new goto guy for speculative fiction. I can’t wait to read the rest of his stuff.

And of course, I love spending time with my fiance, Erin. She keeps me on my toes, and keeps me happy… it’s a tough job, I dunno how she puts up with me some days.

I think that’s enough for a first post. I’ll talk about the wedding details soon, if Erin doesn’t beat me to it.

-Sen

  1. April 3, 2007 at 12:45 am

    Dude.

    I knew there was a reason I left your old page in my ‘check rarely’ bin.

  2. senzeni
    April 3, 2007 at 8:26 am

    and yet you checked it the first day I switched it over! Hopefully it will move out of the ‘check rarely’ bin if I can update it enough.

  3. Senzeni
    April 1, 2008 at 7:09 am

    Hi,

    I came upon your blog because I was googling my name. Senzeni (a Zulu name)is my birthname. It’s actually a question which could be either “what have we done?” or “What should we do?”, depending on how you say it.

    Anyways – you’ve got a nice name:-)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

